Editor, Safety & Health Practitioner

Author Bio ▼

Ian joined Informa (formerly UBM) in 2018 as the Editor of SHP. Ian studied journalism at university before spending seven years in online fantasy gaming. Prior to moving to Informa, Ian worked in business to business trade print media, in the automotive sector. He was Online Editor and then moved on to be the Editor of two publications aimed at independent automotive technicians and parts distributors.
November 3, 2020

Get the SHP newsletter

Daily health and safety news, job alerts and resources

SHP Trailblazer Awards

SHP Trailblazer Awards

The SHP Trailblazer Awards were launched in 2020 and will be open again for nominations in late 2021.

The awards recognise health & safety professionals going above and beyond to make a positive difference – either within their own organisation or more widely in the community. The awards are free to enter and open to all in the UK, irrespective of level of seniority, age or industry. Brought to you as part of the wider SHP Awards, which were in collaboration with the HSE and IATP in 2020. The purpose of the awards is to celebrate achievement and provide a springboard for further success.[/vc_column_text]

Click below to see the finalists. 

The SHP Trailblazer Awards 2020 comprised of four categories:

Trailblazer in Workplace Wellbeing: Recognising individuals who did the most to contribute to people thriving at work, prioritising employees’ wellbeing and mental health.

2020 winner: Phil Spencer.

Click here to view the 2020 Trailblazer in Workplace Wellbeing finalists.

Trailblazer in COVID-19 Response: Recognising individuals who responded to COVID-19 in the most effective or inspiring way. This was open to those on the frontline, helping in the community and in the workplace.

2020 winner: Joel Crompton.

Click here to view the 2020 Trailblazer in COVID-19 Response finalists.

Trailblazer in Technology: Recognising individuals who effectively used technology to improve the health, safety or wellbeing of their colleagues, customers or the general public.

2020 winner: Dr David Greenberg.

Click here to view the 2020 Trailblazer in Technology finalists.

Trailblazer in Positive Social Impact: Recognising individuals who shone a spotlight on an ethical issue, addressed social challenges or helped the community, through volunteering or initiatives at work.

2020 winner: Thomas Dunning.

Click here to view the 2020 Trailblazer in Positive Social Impact finalists.

What do the winners get?

As well as a trophy and the kudos that comes with being named a Trailblazer, winners of each category are offered a complimentary Acre Frameworks coaching session. It provides a fail-safe environment to better understand ways of unlocking potential in order to impactfully deliver change. These sessions also offer winners insight into behavioural strategies aimed at harnessing professional curiosity, creativity and courage to enable self-leadership.

Meet the judges

The 2021 judging panel will be announced later this year. In 2020 judges consisted of health & safety leaders, Rising Stars alumni and past winners of SHP’s coveted ‘Most Influential’ award. Hover over each their photos below to find out more about them.[/vc_row]

Simon Bown

Simon is HSQE Director, KeolisAmey Docklands.

Charlotte Geoghegan

Charlotte is Event Manager for Safety & Health Expo, Workplace Wellbeing Show and SHP at Informa Markets. She is an active member of the Women in Health and Safety committee.

Ian Hart

Ian is Editor of SHP. He joined Informa Markets in 2018 having previously worked in business to business trade print media, in the automotive sector.

Faye McGuiness

Faye is Head of Workplace Wellbeing Programmes at Mind. She joined Mind in 2015 and leads on the development of largescale workplace wellbeing programmes including being responsible for the development and running of the Mental Health at Work website.

Louise Ward

Louise is Health, Safety & Environment Director at Siemens, overseeing rail and traffic management operations across the UK. Louise has also been involved in the development of legislation, guidance material and regulatory policy.

David Cant

David is CMIOSH and Director of Veritas Consulting, with 20+years’ experience. He is on a mission to simplify risk management strategies and improve organisational learning.

Kevin Gilroy

Kevin is EHS Manager at Avery Dennison with a background in Engineering and over 20 years’ experience. Kevin has worked in various sectors of industry including automotive, clinical waste disposal, foundries and heavy engineering.

Anna Keen

Anna is Founding Director at Acre Frameworks. After a career in health & safety recruitment, Anna became concerned that the skillset presented by candidates in market was not meeting the changing need of business.

Professor Dr Andrew Sharman

Andrew CEO of RMS and IOSH President. His consulting experience spans over 100 countries with a broad range of clients from Fortune 500 organisations. Andrew is the author of nine books on safety culture, leadership and wellbeing.

Wayne Williams CMIOSH MRICS BSc (hons) CoCA

Wayne is is the customer relations director on behalf of IATP.  He has 30+ years’ experience in environmental health & safety, training and asbestos management to UKAS standards.

Helen Davitt

Helen is Group Health, Safety and Wellbeing Director at Vodafone Group Services where she is responsible for setting Vodafone’s Global HSW strategy and supporting Vodafone’s Operating Companies globally.

John Green

John is Vice President Global HSE at SNC-Lavalin. He has 40 years’ experience in industrial safety and is globally recognised as someone who does safety differently. John was voted SHP’s Most Influential person in health & safety in 2017.

John Kersey

John is Health & Safety Manager – People & Culture at a global FM company. His career started in the construction industry and he has followed a path from project management, facilities management to health and safety.

Malcolm Staves

Malcolm is Corporate Health & Safety Director at L’Oreal. Since joining L’Oréal, Malcolm has developed strategies for the globalization of health & safety with a focus on risk management, visible leadership and safety culture.

Paul Beaumont

Paul is CEO at IATP.


IATP logoAlong with the HSE, IATP have collaborated with SHP on these awards for 2020. Established in 2010, the IATP are recognised by the HSE, trade bodies, trade unions and industry for continual commitment and development for providing asbestos safety training and promotion of asbestos awareness across the UK.

IATP members are independently and regularly audited and their training materials verified to ensure that their training fully complies with the requirements of regulations.

Members provide asbestos training covering the whole of the UK and beyond. They work closely with industry to ensure best practice and compliance in asbestos knowledge and safe working practices and encourage the development of the safety training industry.

HSE-logoCommenting on the awards, IATP CEO Paul Beaumont said: “The IATP are excited to be sponsoring and supporting the SHP Awards 2020. The efforts of the SHP and organisations similar in role to the IATP is to help encourage, inform and promote best practice, development and commitment to the ongoing safety of those in the workplace and beyond.

“We recognise and respect all of those whose hard work and dedication have brought them to be nominated for an award, but strongly believe that the SHP Awards will help encourage people and organisation to strive toward stronger compliance and to recognise a clear commitment to health and safety in the current times and beyond.”

Click here to view all of the SHP Awards categories.

Related Topics

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Luke Obomighie
Luke Obomighie
4 months ago

Why recognize only UK SHP for the award? I am a SHP in Nigeria.