October 3, 2023

Get the SHP newsletter

Daily health and safety news, job alerts and resources


SHP Awards launch with change to two categories

Simplification of Rising Star and Trailblazer accolades as start of 2023 awards announced.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2023 SHP Awards as it reveals changes to two of its categories.

Previous years have seen the Rising Star and Trailblazer categories incorporate sub-awards in manufacturing, construction, ESG, wellbeing and international. However, following consultations with the SHP editorial board, judges and previous winners, 2023 will see the two awards as standalone accolades. The coveted Most Influential award completes the trio of categories.

The awards, launched in 2014, aim to celebrate the best of the profession with entrants expected to showcase evidence of success alongside their submission. Those that successfully make the shortlists will be scrutinised by a panel of judges made up of previous winners, key figures from the profession and members of the SHP editorial team.

The panel includes outgoing IOSH President Lawrence Webb, last year’s Rising Star winner Jake Newell, and Beth Holroyd who says the impact of the awards goes beyond individual achievement.”I honestly believe that by highlighting the outstanding efforts of fellow health and safety professionals it inspires others by promoting a culture of improvement and innovation across the wider industry,” Holroyd told SHP.

Charlotte Geoghegan, Head of Informa Markets’ Health and Safety Portfolio, and also part of the judging process, is looking forward to reviewing the entrants: “These awards always showcase the most amazing stories from the profession. We get to hear about innovation, passion and leadership; ingredients that we believe represent the sector, and we expect to be reflected in each of this year’s three categories.”

Finalists and winners will be announced online in early December and those wishing to enter can do so here.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments