Editor, UBM

October 14, 2016

Get the SHP newsletter

Daily health and safety news, job alerts and resources

RoSPA Awards 2017 opens for applications

Applications are open for the 2017 Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents, after sterling 60th anniversary celebrations took place this year across London, Birmingham and Glasgow.

This year, the awards saw nearly 2,000 organisations submit an entry with more than 1,200 awards handed out at three ceremonies.

Entries for the prestigious awards in 2017 are now open, in a milestone year for the charity as it reaches its centenary.

To celebrate 100 years, RoSPA is introducing a new level of award to recognise organisations that have achieved consecutive Golds over 25 years or more: the Patron’s Award.

Open to businesses and organisations of all types and sizes from across the UK and overseas, the RoSPA Awards recognise commitment to accident prevention in the workplace.

Individuals who promote safety in their workplace or with their communities are also recognised through the Guardian Angel Awards, which run alongside the Health and Safety Awards.

Presentation ceremonies for the internationally-recognised RoSPA Awards will once again be held in London, co-located with the Safety and Health Expo 2017, as well as in Birmingham and Glasgow. They will take place at ExCeL London on June 20, the Hilton Birmingham Metropole on July 12-13 and the Hilton Glasgow on September 14.

Thousands of winners and their guests will attend RoSPA’s daytime ceremonies and evening gala dinners to receive their accolades.

Julia Small, RoSPA’s head of awards and events, said: “For the second year in a row RoSPA will be marking a huge milestone in its history, and we are pleased to be introducing this new level of award, the Patron’s Award.

“Only those organisations that have shown exceptional levels of commitment to occupational health and safety over a quarter of a century will be eligible, making it one of the top international health and safety accolades.

“The awards allow businesses and organisations to showcase their commitment to their staff, customers and clients, and are always a highlight in the corporate calendar.”

The majority of awards are non-competitive and mark achievement at merit, bronze, silver and gold levels. As well as the Patron’s Award, Gold Medals, President’s Awards and Orders of Distinction are presented to organisations sustaining high standards over time.

Competitive awards go to the best entries in 23 industry sectors including construction, healthcare, transport and logistics, engineering, manufacturing and education.

There are also specialist awards for workforce involvement, occupational health, environmental management and fleet safety, and a trophy for the best organisation operating or based in Scotland. RoSPA’s top accolade is the Sir George Earle Trophy.

A free e-book, designed to guide organisations new to the awards through the application process by helping them choose the right award to apply for and giving top tips on achieving gold and beyond, is also available.

Organisations are encouraged to register by October 31 to save up to £65 off the entry fee. A full list of deadlines and fees can be found online.

Headline sponsor for the awards will be NEBOSH – the National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health – for the 12th consecutive year.

For more information about the RoSPA Awards, or register for the 2017 scheme.

Related Topics

Notify of

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
7 years ago

The link on page 8 of the ROSPA eBook Guide is broken.