Head Of Training, The Healthy Work Company

October 3, 2016

Get the SHP newsletter

Daily health and safety news, job alerts and resources

International Safety Awards 2017 – Applications now open


The British Safety Council has launched the 2017 International Safety Awards to celebrate those organisations that go the extra mile to keep their workers and workplaces healthy and safe.

The awards open for applications today (3 October), and will recognise and reward organisations from around the globe who demonstrate a real commitment to achieving high standards of health and safety during the 2016 calendar year.

The awards are open to businesses and organisations of all sizes, types and sectors – both members of the British Safety Council and non-members, in the UK and internationally. Last year, 443 organisations from a wide range of industries, countries and continents won an International Safety Award.

Launching the awards, Mike Robinson, the British Safety Council’s Chief Executive, said: “The British Safety Council’s vision is that no one should be injured or made ill at work – anywhere in the world – and the International Safety Awards celebrate organisations that are taking effective steps to protect the health, safety and welfare of their workers and others who could be harmed by their activities.

“Winning an International Safety Award enables an organisation to demonstrate to its workforce that it takes their health, safety and welfare seriously.

“It can also enhance an organisation’s reputation among customers, business partners and the wider public, and inspire other businesses to make the same commitment and give workers’ health and safety the priority it rightly deserves.”

How to apply

The awards relate to health and safety management at a specific site or business unit. Applicants answer a series of online questions about their management of health and safety, which are assessed by a team of independent adjudicators. If the application meets the required standard, a pass, merit or – for really exceptional submissions – a distinction, is awarded.

Selected high scoring organisations will again be shortlisted for additional sector awards recognising outstanding sites and business units within a number of business sector categories.

The closing date for applications is Monday 6 February 2017 and the results will be announced on Friday 10 March 2017.

All the winners of the awards will be invited to celebrate their success at the spectacular 60th Anniversary and International Safety Awards Gala Dinner.The black-tie event will take place at the Grosvenor House Hotel in central London on the night of Friday 5 May 2017.

Nominate your champions

Each year the British Safety Council recognises individual employees who have gone the extra mile to help ensure the health and safety of their colleagues.

The Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award – for non-health and safety personnel aged 24 or over – and the Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award – for non-health and safety personnel aged under 24 – allow organisations to nominate individual employees who have given their time to improve health, safety and welfare standards at work.

The winners will receive two tickets to the 60th Anniversary and International Safety Awards Gala Dinner, including all travel and overnight accommodation costs.

To apply for an International Safety Award go to: www.britsafe.org/isa

Related Topics

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments