Informa Markets

Author Bio ▼

Safety and Health Practitioner (SHP) is first for independent health and safety news.
April 10, 2012

Get the SHP newsletter

Daily health and safety news, job alerts and resources

Two firms win awards for offshore safety

Veolia Environmental Services and 3Sun Inspection Services have both received honours for their dedication to safety during offshore projects.

They each won a category at the 2012 Offshore Achievement Awards, which were held at the Ardoe House Hotel in Aberdeen last month. Veolia Environmental Services won the Working Together Award for its role as principal contractor in the decommissioning of the Inde gas field in the Southern North Sea.

The contract required the onshore dismantling and disposal of eight platforms and Veolia was responsible for commissioning and managing all contractors who worked on the project. The judges recognised that Veolia’s leading role had ensured that all operations met the highest standards of safety, occupational health and environmental protection.

3Sun won the Safety Innovations Award for its electronic inspection system, which manages safety and compliance on wind turbines. The hand-held device allows clients to access all inspection procedures, and a web-based platform allows them to view the turbine’s condition remotely from any location. The system has contributed to safety by reducing offshore visits, and ensuring that when technicians mobilise on site, they know the turbine they are visiting is in a safe condition.

Ian Phillips, who chaired the Awards organising committee, said all the winners at this year’s event should be proud of their achievements. He said: “The Awards recognise excellence and outstanding performance in a wide range of categories. Winners can be justifiably proud that their success has been judged by a knowledgeable group of their peers in the industry.  

“The quantity and standard of the entries this year has been superb, and our thanks go to all the companies who took the trouble to apply.”

Other winners included AMEC; Expro Group; Shell UK; and Alba Power.

Related Topics

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments